Michael Sam Blew His Chance

I’m not crazy about guys coming out in public fashion in general; that should be something between a man and his family. Plus, I think far too much time is spent thinking about a 2-3% minority of the population and male homosexuality is actually pretty gross. If you disagree, I didn’t mean to hurt your feelings, that’s just the way it is.

That being said, if Michael Sam were to join my team I’d root for him just as I would anybody else and I feel kinda bad that he is adrift like this. I think he DID show enough potential to make SOMEBODY’S practice squad.

It’s kind of sad, but I think had he just lived his life and played football, and the fact that he’s gay was just kind of discovered organically in the course of his career–without him “COMING OUT!” in such dramatic fashion–it would have been a one week story at best, and he’d still be in the league.

There may be some measure of sexual orientation-based prejudice working against him, but for the most part, it’s the media scrutiny that is most likely the deal-breaker for NFL coaches. And that’s scrutiny that he himself invited.

Leave a Reply

